Carranza Cup

Invitational Single Sword Tournament

For 2024 Carranza Cup registration for combatants, bosses, and volunteers/spectators, see here.

The annual Carranza Cup is run by the Brisbane School of Iberian Swordsmanship.  The primary purpose of this event is to provide an opportunity for relatively inexperienced fencers to gain tournament experience. It will also provide an opportunity for fencers from participating schools to encounter different fencing styles and learn to adapt to them.

Several of Queensland’s top HEMA fencers are invited to participate as “Boss Fighters”, and every competitor is guaranteed at least one Boss Fight, giving them the opportunity to try their skills against the very best.  Boss Fighters are not eligible to win the tournament.

Entry is open to all HEMA students with current insurance.  Priority will be given to less experienced fencers if the event is over-registered.

The Pacheco Prize for Best and Fairest is decided by popular vote.  The following are the nominations from previous years showing the wonderful qualities of our competitors and support team:

2020 Pacheco Prize winner: Chris Slee.  Three-way tie for second place:  Aleks Roseneder, Arnaud Gaudin, and Keagan Jervis.

2020 Boss Fighters:  Chris Godwin, Dan Green, Ross Davies

2019 Pacheco Prize winners: Anthony Kung, Philip Fu, Kirby Gardner, (three-way tie).

2019 Boss Fighters:  Alex Roberson, Emma Fowler, Chris Godwin.

2018 Pacheco Prize-winner Anthony Kung.

2018 Boss Fighters:  Emma Fowler, Chris Godwin, Dan Arnold, Dan Green, Paul Roberson.

Tournament Placings

  • 2023 First, Aleks Roseneder;  Second, Nic Williams;  Third, Robert Cole;  Fourth, Aidan Hughes.
  • 2022 First, Gary Andrews;  Second, Nic Williams;  Third, Martin Buchholtz;  Fourth, Chris Smith.
  • 2021 First, Jacomb Hall;  Second, Sandy Appleby;  Third, Gary Andrews;  Fourth, James Cullen.
  • 2020 First, Fuller November;  Second, Chris Smith; Third, Keagan Jervis;  Fourth, Cohen Benson.
  • 2019:  First, Anthony Kung;  Second, Fox Simpson;  Third, Jacob Scholfield, Fourth, Cohen Benson.
  • 2018:  First, Phil Frost;  Second, Cohen Benson;  Third Cameron Collins;  Fourth, Mark Arnold.
  • 2017:  First, Dane Kilsdonk;  Second, Michael Pippin;  Third, Nate Moore;  Fourth, Ryan Tanzer.